Team biographies

David Hill

Professor David Hill


David founded Environment Bank in 2008 to promote the concept of habitat banking and environmental offsetting in the UK. He is Chairman of the Environment Bank, Deputy Chair of Natural England and a member of the Board of the UK government’s Joint Nature Conservation Committee. He is also a member of the Government’s Ecosystem Markets Taskforce and Chair of the Northern Upland Chain Local Nature Partnership.

Tom Tew

Dr Tom Tew

Chief Executive

Tom is Chief Executive of Environment Bank, with overall responsibility for strategy and operations. Tom spent 20 years in the public sector as an environmentalist, leading teams and programmes at local, regional, national and international scales. His previous roles include Head of the UK CITES Scientific Authority at the JNCC, Area, Regional and National Director at English Nature and Chief Scientist at Natural England.

Bexs Benmayor

Dr Bexs Benmayor

Programme Manager – Ecology

Bexs works in National Delivery, specialising in the ecological aspects of biodiversity accounting, delivery of compensation sites and developing related standards and processes. As Environment Bank’s resident analyst, she is responsible for biodiversity assessments and application of the metric.

Louise Martland

Louise Martland

Programme Manager – National Delivery

Louise began working for Environment Bank as project officer for the Warwickshire, Coventry and Solihull pilot, developing processes and guidance for use throughout the sub-region, whilst sourcing and supporting compensation providers and habitat banks. Louise now also works to develop and deliver the system nationally, supporting biodiversity accounting and Environment Bank brokerage of compensation sites across the UK.

Cara Marshall

Cara Marshall


Cara continues to support national delivery of the biodiversity accounting and offsetting system now as an Associate of Environment Bank.